Sharing

The Sharing sheet lets you control who can access your surface and how. It's accessible from the main menu (click on the blue fltspc button on the top-left of your screen).

Surfaces created when you're not signed can be viewed or changed by anyone, if they know its address. These surfaces are known as anonymous surfaces, and remain so until a signed-in user claims it as their own.

Surfaces created when you are signed in are by default private (only viewable and editable by you). You can always check who can view or edit your surface via the Sharing sheet.

You can grant access to particular people by creating a pass. The pass has a magic URL, which when accessed, grants the user the privileges of the pass. Because it's just text, you can send the URL to your collaborator via email, instant messaging or read it out over the phone.

Scenarios

fltspc supports a range of collaboration scenarios. Here are some ideas of how it can be used.

Ad-hoc collaboration

To grant access to people for a short time, it is often easiest just to set the surface to "Anyone can view and change", making it effectively public. Your collaborators will need to know the id of the surface to access it. When the meeting is over, change the permissions to private or just "Anyone can view" to prevent further changes

For more finely-grained control, create a pass for the group you are collaborating with, and share it with them. The pass can be deleted afterward.

On-going collaboration

For one or two collaborators, create a pass for each person and email it to them separately. For a group of collaborators, create a single pass which is shared with them all.

Magic URLs

Treat the magic URL for anonymous passes like a password. Anyone who has the URL can attain the privileges granted by the pass.

After you create a pass (or when you click to view an existing pass), you'll be able to see the pass' "magic URL". Copy it and send it to the person you want to collaborate with via an email, instant message or SMS etc.

Your collaborator types, clicks or pastes the URL into their browser on their own device, and will then have access to the surface.

Deleting a pass will void its Magic URL (this might take a minute or two for existing users).

Click the 'share' button to see the pass details in a big full screen view. This is handy when you're using a projector and want to share the pass with everyone in the room.

Additional control

Checking "Surface properties" locks surface properties such as title, background and size. Only you as the owner of the surface will be able to change them.

Checking "Others' widgets" restricts collaborators to only being able to create widgets and edit previously created widgets (assuming they are signed in). You as the surface owner will always be able to edit any widget on your surface.

Passes

Passes allow to give out additional privileges which override the general private/anyone surface settings. Once created, a pass must be given to someone via it's magic URL (see earlier discussion). Passes can be used by a single person or group - anyone who has access to the magic URL will be able to take advantage of it. This means it is important not to distribute pass details too widely.

Various permissions can be set, which should be obvious

"Can be used by non signed-in users" if unchecked, only people who have signed in to fltspc can use the pass. This allows some accountability as to who is using the pass.

"Title" describes the pass in the list of passes, and is only visible to you.

Permission changes might not seem to take effect straight away. You can reload fltspc (via the main menu) and ask your collaborators to do so as well if they have problems.